World of Fayt

Taiwan Trip

Posted on: December 24, 2008

taiwan_postcard8

taiwan

Haiz! I didn’t wanted to go to Taiwan in the first place de…. I wanted to go to the country above Taiwan, which is JAPAN!

Day 1: Taipei

This is my first time to Terminal 3, look abit more grand than Terminal 2 or 1 but the store is still the same as what already have in 2 and 1.

dsc00484

dsc00486

The moment we reached there, we had our dinner and headed straight for the Taipei 101 building.

Taipei 101

dsc00505

dsc00506

The inside of Taipei 101 look more like Singapore’s Paragon, all branded stuffs can be found in there.

dsc00510

dsc00509

Shilin Night Street

Our last stop for the day is the famous Shilin Night Street. Best known for their variety of food and shopping district.

dsc00532

The recommended food to try here is the 豪大大鸡排 and 大饼包小饼.

dsc00535

dsc00540

Imperial Hotel Taipei

Here is the hotel for my two days stay in Taipei.

dsc00551

dsc00552

Day 2: Taipei

Lover’s Bridge

Hmmm… nothing special about this, only the scenery is beautiful, maybe I feel this way is because I don’t have a gf Lol xD

dsc00571

dsc00565

Tamshui Old Street

It is shopping time again after the boring lover’s bridge :X

dsc00587

The famous “iron-eggs”.

dsc00582

*P.S – Claireto!!! If you want to know to where I bought the bag for you, it is here lor 😛

dsc00579

dsc00583

Five Cent Diftwood Restaurant

This is the first time I came across a restaurant which look more like a museum than a restaurant, Haha unique sia.

dsc00595

dsc00604

dsc00609

After lunch, we have the whole day off so we head to one of the biggest shopping center in Taipei. The outer shape look like a giant ball, it look even weirder on the inside. xDD

dsc00630

dsc00618

Dinner is on our own so we decided to try out all the different food there. We had xiao long bao, Hakka BBQ chicken & beef, baked rice, a Japanese side dish (rice with salmon) and mee fen.

dsc00643

Shilin Night Street (AGAIN!!)

We came across a very interesting restaurant which uses toilet as their theme. Lol, this idea sound so smelly yet so innovative. xD Even the seats are in the shape of toilet bowl (make me want to shit when sitting on it lor..).

dsc00656

We tried out their 大便 ice cream hahah, and it really does look and taste like one LOL.

dsc00657

They even use the shape of a urinal for drinks. xD sound disgusting lol.

dsc00659

Santas Claus!!

dsc00642

dsc00623

After that we decided to try take their MRT (same name sia) train back to our hotel, but in the end we got lost and it took us an hour to figure our way back.

dsc00665

Day 3: Hualien

Chiufen

From day 3 onward, we will be going from places to places, I find that quite tiring yet exciting too 😛

So from Taipei, we started to go to Hualien, and so we stop by Chiufen for lunch.

img_9433

We had lunch at one of the restaurant but I forgot the name of it le. lol

dsc00678

dsc00679

Soon after that, we head to Ilan National Centre for Traditional Arts.

img_9438

Most of the building inside are based on traditional houses which is quite interesting for me ba. But my parent are very excited about it and keep telling us stuffs that they uses in the past like my dad describing about the bicycle while I and my bro are spacing out. Lol…

img_9443

Haha, my weird mother keep trying to take pictures of me while I was busy exploring around.

img_9447

Wah.. food again… it was just about 2 hrs before we last ate xD

dsc00691

Day 4: Taitung

Taroko Gorge

On our way to Kaohsiung, we will pass through this Taroko Gorge so we stop by to view scenery such as the Nine Turn Grotto and Swallow Caves.

dsc00717

Wondering what I am doing everyone was busy taking pictures? Haha

dsc00719

After looking at rocks for awhile, I also start to stone there le..

dsc00720

This is dunno how many times that my mother take pictures of me while I am not aware or doing other things like taking pictures of the scenery in this case … xD


We stop by this cafe here which has the best coffee in the world (maybe?). Drinking coffee in a cool weather while looking at the beautiful scenery, kimochi ne!!

dsc00729

Now we are heading to the southern part of Taiwan and we stop here for a break. The tour guide say that this tall-looking thing is to separate between the cold and hot region. Sound chim o.O

dsc00740

dsc00745

Today our hotel is consider one of the best hotel in term of the room quality and services. They also have famous hot spring in their hotel so they don’t have to go to those public spring.

dsc00768

dsc00769

There are also events like dances held outdoor in the hotel.

dsc00774

dsc00773


Day 5: Kaohsiung

Fokuangshan

dsc00784

Tung Po Zuiyuelou

Can you imagine going to a restaurant with just S$10 ++ and eat all you can, even more the waiter will serve you and the potion of food is huge too.

dsc00790

Bullet Train

Wah lau.. Soon after my stomach almost burst from eating, we are taking a bullet train to Kaohsiung. Eat, sit, sleep, not fat also can become fat lor… Haha

dsc00792

Nanyuan Leisure Farm

Wow, this has to be the biggest room I have ever been to. Somehow it feel scary to sleep alone too 😛

dsc00815

Finally I get to do some exercise after so many days of eat-sleep lifestyle. Anyway I find it quite stupid for them to organize golf so late in the night cause we can’t even see where is we are shooting.

dsc00822

Day 6: Alishan/Sun Moon Lake

Nanyuan Leisure Farm

Yesterday reach here is so late (in fact is not that late but the sun set much more earlier than in SG) so I purposely woke up early today to explore and take pictures.

dsc00847

This is where I stay for the night.

dsc00840

dsc00850

dsc00855

Alishan

Alishan has nothing but trees that is able to live for thousands of years and having three different generation. It is amazing though but I am not really that interested in trees. Haha

dsc00864

When I heard from my tour guide saying that we will be walking/climbing for 4 hours, I thought it was a piece of cakes but I am wrong.. especially when I need to lend a support to my mum which is so damn fat and heavy. LOL

dsc00883

Is it just me or did that tree has a shape that looked like a heart? Lol romantic le 🙂

dsc00894

After climbing for such a long time, we are able to rest up a bit while doing some window shopping.

dsc00889

Our lunch is not that good as compared to what we have for the past few days in Taiwan but still I eat the most and find it nice. Now I know why my tour guide say the restaurant has the best food, cause after climbing for 3 hours, any food that is served to me is delicious de. Whahaha…

dsc00899

Sun Moon Lake

Sun Moon Lake is best known for the their good fengshui location and beautiful scenery. Sometime it is also nice to go to places like these after living in the city for so long, quite relaxing.

dsc00908

dsc00917

Day 7: Taoyuan

Hoho~ Finally left two more days before the tour end le 😛

Formosan Aboriginal Culture Village

Here is where they have Taiwan’s nine hill-tribes houses and living style. But who cares about that??! I just want to go explore and look for anything that is fun and exciting. xD

dsc00941

Hmm Most of the entertainments here can also be found in SG also and that is why I don’t like trying it out le.. even though everything here is free after buying the ticket..

dsc00942

Cable car

dsc00944

dsc00949

Here is where they film the romantic drama “公主小妹”.

dsc00958

dsc00964

dsc00962

dsc00963

dsc00970

Next is a strawberry farm where we can even pick our own strawberry.

*P.S. I was thinking of buying some for Claire after trying it out but they said mus eat instantly, if not it will go bad..:(

My Chocolate Strawberry 🙂 Hehe

dsc00980

dsc00976

dsc00977

Day 8 : Taipei

The last day is mostly buying some of the well-known snack/food back to Singapore and also some last min shopping.

We stopped by Vigor Kobo to buy back some pineapple tarts.

dsc00988

Then last min shopping at Ximenting.

Ximenting

img_9590

We decided to try out their fruit ice cream even thought the weather is so cold, and we didn’t regret it. The fruit was so fresh and the ice is very different from normal “ice-kacang” that we eat in SG, the ice is very soft and so even people with sensitive teeth can eat it without any pain at all. 😀

dsc00998

How is it possible to shop Ximenting in just an hour time, and that why in the end I didn’t manage to buy anything at all. That’s alright, I tell myself that there is also a next time whereby I will come back here and shop like siao Haha.

Tong Yuan International Airport is our last destination after this, and that is how my Taiwan trip ended. Overall I find it quite enjoying even thought I don’t really like to travel with my parent, especially my brother.. I have learned about their history, visited most of the attractive places and tried out a lot of different local food.

My Calendar

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
